Davit arm calculation

Hello, i am a mechanical engineer primarily focused on designing pressure vessels . In my work i have used mainly PVElite and Nozzle pro ( when it was necessary) so i am not that familiar with finite element analysis in depth .
On our latest project the client demanded that we support a rather large cover by way of davit and we calculated the davit arm using calculations from D. Moss's book . We reached a thickness of 80 mm , using a bar of S355J2 ( EN 10025-2).
The arm is holding very well , however i wanted to check it using a finite element software as well.
I got the free version of Mecway ( which , by the way i think it's a very nice software for new comers to FEA, especially because it lets users apply forces and supports on directly selected faces ) and modeled the davit arm as best i could ( i attached here the files) and i have a few questions because i think i am doing something wrong :
1 ) I wanted to model the brackets that hold the arm but i could only put fixed supports by choosing the faces and not the nodes ( when i put a fixed support on a node i get an error about the node not being on a beam element). How can i chose a node to make it a fixed support ?
2 ) Is the meshing correct ?
3 ) After running the analysis i got a von Misses stress of 13.46 MPa as an element value ( i read in mecway manual that it is better to look at element value than node value if i have a low number of nodes) which is much smaller than the yield strength of S355J2 at 80 mm thick ( 325 MPa ).Is my model correct and hence forth the analysis ?
Because it seems to me that if i modeled correctly and thus the analysis is correct , that i could have chosen a thinner bar for my davit arm.
Any response is more than welcome.

Comments

• VMHVMH
    edited February 2016
    gogu, welcome to Mecway!