Mesh quality

Hi Mecway users,

I am new to Mecway and I wonder whether it has a functionality to estimate or display the mesh quality. On Solidworks for instance, I had (in the past) the aspect ratio. Anything similar ?

BR
jase

Comments

• Good morning JASE:

I want to share a couple of thoughts with you:

I do not know in MW but you can certainly do it when you mesh using gmsh(ONELAB-statistics->Mesh).
    If I am not mistaken, you can query about this info when using SALOME-MECA.
    MW always warnss you about distortioned members(negative jacobian,...)

MANUEL

• A few people have asked for this and I hope to later but it won't be in the next version (14).
  • Maybe it is possible to compute mesh quality using a python script.

• Thanks to Manuel and Victor for their inputs . So I understand that mesh quality is not yet a MW feature (but may become it soon ? ;-) ).

BTY, mmartin's screenshot is a bit unclear to me. Where does it come from ? Plugins in MW ? or elsewhere ?

Thanks for your support.
    Jase
  • Hi Manuel,

After re-reading the post, I came to theguess that the plugins are the ones available in Onelab. I'll have a look to it. Thanks for the hint.

BR
    Jase
  • My apologies for the confusing screenshot I previously sent.
    You are absolutely right. I remembered about the mesh quality plug-in from Onelab (gmsh package).
  • hi jase,