python development in Mecway ironpython install

Hello, I have a few questions about how to access the python interpreter that comes with Mecway. I have never used ironpython before.

I'd like to be able to install packages using pip, create virtual environments, and that sort of thing. I believe all of this should be possible, since there is an ensurepip package inside of the Mecway13\IronPython.2.7.9\Lib folder.

It appears that unlike cpython, in ironpython there is no python.exe. Instead, I only see a DLL file in the ironpython\lib folder. However, reading online it appears that ironpython does use a ipy.exe (rather than python.exe for cpython). But I cannot find any ipy.exe file on my machine anywhere.

It is probably obvious that I have never done any .NET development before and have no idea how to access the equivalent of the python executable that comes with Mecway. How can I do this?

Comments

• I can't offer much help with that except to say that it runs IronPython from a dll like you found so Mecway.exe is the python interpreter executable. You can probably find ipy.exe somewhere else and it might work with Mecway but it won't be able to access the same API since the main objects are created on the fly by Mecway before running each script.
  • Hi,

I installed IronPython and it pulls the resources that I needed in Mecway in order for the modules to work.

If you want a bit more complex python example, I have created a script in python to calculate average bending moments / length (either u or v direction) from surfaces ( mainly using 'quad8' in Mecway ) and get the number of reinforcement bars on a certain length - see attached file.

I wrote an explanation in front of every command so you can understand what is doing. If you have .NET or Visual Basic experience, the logic should be quite clear.

In order to work, please change the extension from '.txt' to '.py'.

Hope it helps.