Composite laminate

I am trying out Mecway for some composites (FRP, carbon, etc). Normally I just need to analyze plates. So I created this simple laminate composed of a top mat layer and 4 biaxial layers. I have applied a load of 2 PSI (I think) in the Y direction. The edges should be fixed (could be pinned, but just want to compare to my spread sheets).

The laminate seems to be too stiff. It should have a deflection of about .01 inch, but the analysis shows .001, off by about 10X.

I am new to FEA :) , although I am quite familiar with structural modeling programs like RISA. So please excuse my lack of understanding as I learn this stuff. I think this program can be of use. Victor has been answering some questions and I thought I would put it on the forum.

TNX

Peter

Comments

• Not sure if you uploaded the right file. This one has a zero solution.
  • You mean in the displacement min-max? It should be .001 -2 inches.

Also not sure how to load in the Tsai-wu failure data.
  • Here is an updated model. Not sure why the displacement min-max did not show correctly. Hopefully this one does (now min=.001,Max=1). I cannot get the failure results to work (first ply failure, safety factors). This laminate should fail at a displacement of about 7/8". The laminate is 24" square. Anyway...I'm sure I am doing something wrong!
  • edited July 2020
    The file I see has only a single element with all nodes constrained so the displacement is 0 everywhere. I changed it to make it like your description but get 1.3 inch maximum displacement magnitude, not either of the solutions you described.

Since this is a simple geometry, you could use a solid model as a reference solution, making each layer a layer of elements. There are effectively only two isotropic layers. I can make that model for you if you like, but would like to confirm I'm working with the correct material properties and everything.