Newbie help

Hello,
I am new to using Mecway and although I have past experience of FEA it has been nearly 15years since I used any software (past experience was Abacus).

I am trying to do some simple examples to ease myself into using the software and have set up a very simple static 2D 'beam' problem however although there don't seem to be any input errors, I get a 'Invalid stiffness for element' error and would grateful for any suggestions as to what might be causing this.

My project file is attached.

Many thanks

Bob

Comments

• First of all, rest assured you've picked a good software. we have many users and have been effectively applying Mecway for many years now. I would recommend simcommons.com and the other references you will find on YouTube for a quick start.
    I think your issue is the plane you are running in- I rotated into the XY plane for 2D and it seems to run fine.
  • John,

thank you for the link to other resources and also for solving my problem :-) I'll now know to consider the orientation if I'm using 2D.

Thanks again

Bob
  • Hello, I'm after a bit more advise please. I've been doing a comparison between a shell plate and 3D plate for a problem I'm working on and the results are not similar as I was expecting. I tried to make sure that the constraints and loads are the same (along with the material properties and element dimensions) however the shell plate maximum deflection (in the Z direction) is approximately 5 times that of those seen with the 3D elements (the deflection using the shell plate is verified by hand calcs). Is anyone able to see where I am going wrong please? The attached file has 3 different versions: Shell, 3D element one cell thick and 3D elements 2 cells thick (hidden and supressed as appropriate). Any assistance would be much appreciated. Thank you Bob
  • edited October 2023
    Switch to 2nd order elements for the 3D elements and the variation will be less. Maybe with more elements you will be closer.