Buckling Test - Request for Help

I am a hobbyist who finds the interface of Mecway very user friendly.

Attached is an attempt I have made at analysing a truss member.
Geometry is a square hollow section (pipe) 65mm by 65mm by 4mm wall thickness.
Steel is 450 mpa
The member is connected to the panel point by an 18mm clevis pin at each end.
The distance from centre of pin to centre of pin is 1360mm
The member will be subject to a maximum load in compression of 32Kn.

I have four questions:
1. Have I set my model up correctly?
2. If so is the displacement of 0.233mm in Y correct?
3. If so what if any is the factor of safety?
4. If the answer to question 1 is "no" can one of you guys show me how to go about things please?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Ok, I'll give it a try...

1. Model Setup:
    • Constraints are correct. Since these are pinned supports, I don't think truss option is necessary.
    • There are nodes floating not attached to elements. "Delete Unused Nodes". Try the Refine X2 a few times to subdivide your column.
    2. Analysis related:
    • The displacement of 0.233mm is correct for simple axial compression. You want to run Buckling Analysis if it's Euler Critical Load you are after (more on that in a moment).
    • The software will often red-flag about not accepting a particular cross-section. Some of the members substitute CCX material cards for this situation. I find I can calculate equivalent stiffness (Ix,Iy) and area for a rectangular cross-section and get by.
    3. Safety Factor:
    • First get your Critical Load in the ballpark. Calculate the Slenderness Ratio.