Sanity check on a steel structure.

I have retained an interest in steel structures in retirement (I am not an engineer but worked in construction for many years). I have been experimenting with Mecway and produced the attached model. I wonder if someone could check it out to see if I am on the right track and also I would appreciate any recommendations.

It may be of interest for me to mention that I am running Mecway on MX Linux 19.1 on which I have Wine and Wine Tricks installed. It seems to be running very well.
Cheers

Comments

• Hi LHartley ,

-You have all the members specified as truss; columns included. ¿Is that ok with you?

-L members have their V axis naturally rotated 45 degrees. That makes you are losing strength capacity of the members and it will be difficult to weld if it isn't corrected. You can change the orientation adjusting the V axis in the element properties window/Rotate by angle.

-I’m sure you know it but for those who are new just point that MECWAY don't check the fulfillment of any Construction Code requirements by itself.
    Failure criteria, material safety coefficients, allowable deflection, Load combinations…….. should be check/input by you known the results provided by the software. Some of them can be check automatically with custom formulas. Some others need to be made by hand like slenderness of the members.

-You can try to reproduce some known solutions to start. You will get an idea of how the different elements perform , their limitations and in the meantime, you will get more familiar with the software and how to read the results. See attached pdf. It's in Spanish but you can search for the equivalent in your language.

-Once you are more confident that your results agree with the expected values provided by the theory, you can go and check if the member is suitable to carry that load according to your country Construction Code.

Said that , I wish you enjoy your new journey . I think MECWAY is a perfect tool to start.