Hi, I am new.

Hi, I am new to Finite element analysis, and I have issues understanding the manual.

So to give you a little bit of background, I am getting into mechanical engineering as a hobby, not as a professional.

The objective is to design fictional vehicles for vehicle simulations, to ensure they perform as realsistically as the simulation will allow.

I decided to self-educate myself with resources I could find on the internet when it comes to simulating mechanical forces like stresses / strains, weights when I came across the term 'finite element analysis' among other aspects, which is where I came accross CAD simulation.
I eventually came across an engineering forum https://eng-tips.com/ where I found out about mecway.

So I decided to download it and try it out, given it has a forum and good support and a forum where I can ask questions about issues that I come across.

So after downloading the software, in order to understand how to use mecway I decided to read the manual and needless to say, I am getting a little overwhelmed with terms that I am not exactly familiar with by chapter 6.

I guess I need help.
Thank you for reading.

Comments

• Hello @BenDragon81037 and welcome.

Regarding chapter 6, I'll try to summarize all the mechanical analysis types in terms of vehicles:

Static - Least powerful. Essentially Hooke's law (F=kx) generalized to 3D. No momentum and no displacements large enough to change the stiffness, which typically means no displacements big enough to see. Example uses: Finding the stress in a space frame or stiffness of a car body in normal use.

Nonlinear static - Everything Static does (except a few odd features) plus large displacements such as suspension travel and large strains such as denting panels.