Trouble Transferring Temperatures from a Thermal Solutions

This is my first time running a thermal mechanical analysis. I run lots of conventional stress analysis. Model is a stack of a complex structural inner skin, lots of insulation then a thin external skin. I ran a thermal steady state model and got an excellent temperature distribution that makes intuitive sense as I interrogate the data. Now I want to run the thermally induced stress analysis. When I try to "Transfer temperatures from solution" or try a work around by creating a Table with node temperatures and the apply those as "node temperatures" I get the same error . . . "Some node numbers are not in the mesh"

I compared the number of nodes in the temperature table to those in the input deck via spreadsheet. Identical.

Any thoughts appreciated.

PS I did look at discussions in the Forum to see if there were any issues similar to this. Many thanks.

Comments

• edited January 2022
    Hi,

You probably have some shell or beam element in your model.
    If yes, add a modify Keyword *NODE FILE --->OUTPUT 2D.

Then proceed as normal. I have tried with creating a table, copy into notepad to remove the spaces, and paste it back to mecway. Worked fine.

NOTE: Ccx expand shells and beams to solids creating new nodes. There are more in the solution than in the model. With Output 2D you calculate the solution on the model nodes.

EDIT: Transfer temperatures from solution also works straight through. I didn't know this option . Nice

• one note about output=2d though. the stress is not useful to gauge safety. it's far from what you get doing something more accurate. the problem with ccx is you are forced to use output=2d sometimes. due to the node expansion. it's a real headache from a user perspective. this is just how ccx was designed. until the author does something different, you may be out of luck for certain analyses.