Thin film wrinkling

Hello,

I'm relatively new to FEA but was hoping I could get some insight on simulating wrinkling in thin films under tension.

I have a material that is 25 microns thick, 1.15 cm wide and 25 cm long. It is isotropic (or at least I'm assuming it is :p) with a modulus of 2.5 GPa, Poisson's ratio of 0.333.

Under tension of about 8 to 10 N we are seeing wrinkles form.

I would like to model this phenomenon but I am unsure of the type of model to use and the boundary conditions.

I have tried "Static 3D" and "Shell / Membrane" with the appropriate thickness. Then had a fixed support on the base and a force on the other end but the material only deformed like a tensile sample and was very uniform. I'm guessing I'm missing something.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Frank

Comments

• Attached is the input I've tried.
  • Since displacement isn't proportional to load, you will need nonlinear analysis (Nonlinear static 3D and CCX solver). It probably needs an initial imperfection too, like some nodes moved a little.

I couldn't find any wrinkling that way but I wonder if the elements are too big to capture it or maybe the phenomenon requires plastic yielding or non-linear elasticity?

I would use hex20 with only 1 or 2 elements in the thickness direction instead of 16 hex8's.
  • I know that Calculix only supports brick/solid elements and so any plate is then changed into brick/solid elements by the solver. Apart from my mathematical knowledge of brick/solid elements I have not used them very often, however from what I gather they are very robust elements and work well with poor aspect ratios also. Would the mesh presented in the image still perform well? I assume using hex20 would substantially improve results compared to plate/shell elements and other solid elements with fewer nodes.

• edited May 6
    Hi Mishal,