plastics materials database

Dear Sir,
I am totally new to Mecway . And interested in knowing whether Mecway has a plastics materials data base which can be used for assigning the material properties and carry out the large deformation analysis .

Comments

• Hello drssp. It doesn't currently have a materials database though this is a commonly requested feature so hopefully in a future version. For now, you would have to get material data from elsewhere, such as matweb.com .

For large deformations, you need to install the CalculiX CCX solver available here http://bconverged.com/download.php . Then connect it to Mecway through Tools -> Options -> CalculiX.
  • Thanks Victor for quick response.
    I am a researcher working on plastics parts behaviour under forced vibrations at elevated temperatures. I am curious to know how Mecway can help in optimising shapes / Sections of plastic molded assembly of parts. Normally their are three to four parts for a assembly . For example multimeter box or door handle etc. In case you have a example or case study pl let me know .
    Regards
    Drssp
  • It doesn't have automatic shape optimization, so you would need to do that iteratively. 3-4 part assemblies are perfectly OK. I don't have any examples that specific sorry but there are examples of assemblies and contact in the manual.
  • Thanks Victor for this quick update.
    I have one more question.
    Is the mesh generation module ngmesh is 64 bit version?
    Also in case mesh nodes are more than 1 million what happens to deck while solving.
    Regards.
    Drssp
  • You can check on my own site some assembly examples, all were meshed, pre and postprocessed in Mecway

http://www.4pingenieria.com/pipping/

Once you catch the workflow will find easier than other FEA packages.

Regards