Simulating a compressed EVA pad

Hello,

I am a beginner of FEA. I am trying to simulating a compressed EVA cylinder.

The EVA was purchased from grocery shop. It is a cylinder of outer diameter 30 mm and height 9.6 mm. It weights 0.78 g. I checked it with a Durometer Shore A meter. The average value is 28. I used the conversion give in this link https://3dvision.com/blog/entry/2011/07/14/convert-durometer-to-youngs-modulus.html to obtain Young's modulus of 1.0179 MPa. Poisson's ration is assumed 0.4.

The EVA pad was compressed by a force meter which was mounted to z-axis of a CNC machine. The meter had a circular metal adapter attached. Diameter of it is nearly 30 mm. When the EVA was compressed for 1 mm, the meter showed a peak value of 39.4 N. I want to use this experiment to verify the simulation.

I created the model by using plate mesh and extrude tools. I added frictionless support and force (39.4 N) for constraints/loads.

Am I doing things both modelling and experiment correctly?

Displacement in Z converged to ~0.44 mm. I can't figure out where I did wrong for not getting a closer value.

Thanks for reading. Please give me some hints.

Comments

• edited May 2017
    Hi Suktan,

I am not very expert at this, but I can give you some suggestions for now, and later you will get replies from the real experts.

I have recently been trying to simulate compression of an O-ring.
    http://mecway.com/forum/discussion/418/compressible-o-ring-with-contact-surfaces#latest