Calculix ccx2.9 built with msys2/mingw64 vs. bConverged ccx2.8p2

Hello guys,

though not new to ccx nor FEM, I'm new to mecway. In general I work with a linux binary. As I could not find a working ccx2.9 binary for windows to be run with mecway I decided to build my own ccx2.9 from source using gcc and gfortran 5.3.0. With msys2/mingw64 the build process is almost identical to linux with only minor changes to the sources and makefiles.

I did a little (naive) benchmark with the bConverged ccx2.8p2 (no bashing intended, just due to availability)
I ran my binary and Jeffs binary on the model from: http://mecway.com/forum/discussion/comment/748/#Comment_748

The results were quite suprising. It seems gcc did a good job here. If you want to try the binaries yourself pls check github https://github.com/ddfem/ccx_mingw64
The binaries are statically linked, so you should not need/miss any external library. The fully tuned version might fail on some cpus.

I hope these binary can be useful for the mecway community.

regards

kwip

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CPU: Skylake i7-6820HK
ENV: OMP_NUM_THREADS=4 --> MT is active for all versions (parallel)
ENV: OMP_NUM_THREADS=1 --> MT is inactive for all versions (serial)

bConverged ccx2.8p2
parallel:
real 0m37.762s
user 0m0.000s
sys 0m0.015s

serial:
real 0m42.490s
user 0m0.000s
sys 0m0.015s

ccx_2.9_MT (FLAG: -O3)
parallel:
real 0m25.519s
user 0m0.000s
sys 0m0.015s

serial:
real 0m37.481s
user 0m0.000s
sys 0m0.000s

ccx_2.9_MT FULLY TUNED (FLAG: -O3 -march=native -mtune=native)
parallel:
real 0m22.651s
user 0m0.000s
sys 0m0.015s

serial:
real 0m32.241s
user 0m0.000s
sys 0m0.015s

Comments

• ... Guido released ccx2.10 ... so did I with the binaries ..
  • Hi Kwip, have you tried this build from within Mecway? I have tried another 2.9 build but have some problems (in fact for some reason Mecway can't lunch the solver).

Best regards, and good work!