Meshing of sheet metal assemblies

Hi Guys,

I am totally new with Mecway and not very familiar with FEM. I would like to do static calculations on big welded sheet metal and four cornered shafts. (See some example attached). I want to get a volume mesh on it without special preparing of the model for the calculation. Netgen cannot generated a mesh on it, and Gmsh does completely crash the windows system.
Does anybody know if there is a possibility to mesh such geometries?

Thanks for feedback and regards, Roland

Comments

• Is possible to mesh but considering the part composed by several bodies. Is better to modify the geometry into only one solid body.

Regards
  • Hi Andrea,

thanks very much! The mesh looks really good for what I want to do. Can you please tell me how you managed to mesh it?

Regards, Roland
  • In your CAD package open the file and export every component as a single body step file (I did it with FreeCad), then import all in Mecway and mesh separately. Then you must join the parts (meshes) with bonded contacts.

For this kind of geometry I would mesh it as surface elements with mostly quads and then extrude to create hexas, two or three along the thikness.

Regards

• Some parts intersect each other which is probably why it's not meshing. To see where, make a surface mesh (which works), and use the cutting plane slider to look inside. No doubt, converting it to a single solid body in CAD as Andreas suggested will correct this.
  • Thanks again! Your comments are quite helpful. Is it possible to use bonded contacts for parts that are intersecting each over are just have a line contact?
    I tried to contact two intersecting bodies in a simple model, but it did not work.
    Also by merging the parts into one solid netgen doesn ´t work. Is there any possibility to get Gmsh working?
  • Is it possible to use bonded contacts for parts that are intersecting each over are just have a line contact?
    I´m not sure, try changing the tolerance zone