Beam on Plate

I am new to this software and would like to model a beam used as a stiffener to a plate to determine stresses. I did a quick search through the forums and could not find a tutorial or help on this subject. I have a plate over a pit and would like to find out how much weight can be placed on it.

Comments

• cirasj, can you give us a sketch with dimensions and thicknesses of what you trying to model? Thanks
  • cirasj,

There are many ways to do this. You can use a new feature from Mecway and do bonded contact as shown in video below. I didn't have your dimensions so I used random dimensions just to show the general concept. Also there are different ways of building the model so you don't have to do what I did. I used all shell elements but you are free to use what you feel fit.

As for the loading, I used a uniform distributed load/pressure over the entire area on top of the plate just as an example. You can apply uniform distributed load/pressure over a confined area, concentrated loads, etc. I forgot to add in the dead weight in the analysis shown in the video below. You can add this by right clicking on the load tab on the left hand side of the screen where the model "tree" is located. There is an option to add in the "New Gravity". You just need to put in the acceleration and Y-direction (vertical). For my example, I need to put in -32.2 ft/sec^2 on the Y-direction box. Attached is the model for reference.

• Thanks VMH, that's very clear. I would add that you can also move the stiffeners away from the plate a little to make a more realistic connection without the flanges being embedded in the plate. Bonded contact allows some gaps like this and the structure's stiffness will increase accordingly.

An alternative approach, if all the stiffeners have the same cross-section, is to use beam elements for the stiffeners and shell offset for the plate. The CompositeBeam.liml sample included with Mecway shows this.