Some issues generating inp file

Hi to everyone! I'm a structural engineer and I'm a CCX user from some years. I tried MecWay for generating .inp file to perform nonlinear analysis. I saw that Mecway doesn't write all the parameters:

First increment, step duration, minimum increment and maximum increment. Follow an example

*Static, SOLVER=SPOOLES
     0.10000,     1.00000, 1e-05, 1.0

Other problems is that Is not possible to manage the maximum number of increments in the step:

*STEP,NLGEOM=YES,INC=100 (Written by Mecway)

For large plastic strain is important to register more than 100 increments

Other aspect is the application of *AMPLITUDE card to *CLOAD. Mecway builds ad *AMPLITUDE for every nodal load but is possible to apply the same *AMPLITUDE card defining only one *CLOAD for all nodal loads applied to a surface:

*Cload,OP=NEW, AMPLITUDE=AMP1
      5,1, -0.56395427E-13
     59,1,   24.000000
     60,1, -0.50931698E-13
     61,1,   24.000000
     62,1, -0.52086157E-13

• Node number or node set label.
• Degree of freedom.
• Magnitude of the load

Other problem for me are the units. I prefer a unitless inp file. So one unit must be 1 mm. Mecway writes it in meters and al results are in Pa (Using CGX). Obviously I prefer MPa.

I have others advices: for example is important to compute the overall forces applied to the model before performing the analysis. It is important if one works on model with minimal supports and balanced loads.

I have other advices about how to build material models to solve in CCX....next time

Comments

• edited November 2016
    Hi Andrea, welcome to the forum!